Why & How Does She Do It?

October 3, 2013

ImageThe honest answer? Hell if I know.  This ongoing healthcare debate, which I really don’t want to get into but what the hell, really has me questioning the access to care for those sick in our society.  Why do I get up and go to work almost every day?  Because I have to.  If I didn’t I wouldn’t have health insurance that covers the hundred of thousands of dollars already spent for my care.  I have to because, if I didn’t, there wouldn’t be the extra income.  Yes, I love my co-workers and everyone has been super flexible.  What about those that aren’t as lucky? I do it to exercise my brain even if it’s monotonous data entry.  Unfortunately, now, that is even becoming stressful.  Most days I just want to be home, in bed because I’m so completely drained from every chemical being put in my body.  The coughing is relentless, I get moodier and moodier.  I have to because it forces me to be in a good mood.

interruption….my husband puts me in the best moods all the time so no dissing on him.

The other thing I’ve been noticing a lot lately, is this playing down of one’s own trials and tribulations because they don’t seem important enough compared to mine.  I truly, truly appreciate every person who says I’m strong, brave, handling things with grace, etc. but please don’t feel that you have to diminish your own strength, bravery or grace.  I see it in you and others do too.  I know that all of the people in my life are wonderful, caring, beautiful people who each have their own obstacles to overcome and pain to deal with.  We can be in this together because, a lot of the time, I move forward so that I can see all of your lovely faces.  What better reason?

Leave a comment